Biryani

MY FAVORITE PLACES FOR BIRYANI

By

VIKRAM KARVE

When I was a small boy living in Pune in the sixties, there were only two places where I liked the Biryani: Dorabjee in Pune Camp and Good Luck at Deccan.

Now, there are a dime a dozen restaurants serving oily, greasy, fiery-hot and over-spiced concoctions of rice masquerading as Biryani. A good Biryani must be savory, not spicy; fragrant, not pungent; it should make your stimulate and titillate your tongue, not set it on fire, make your mouth water, not your nose and eyes!

As far as Poona (Pune) is concerned, even today, I think it’s only Dorabjee in Camp and Good Luck at Deccan that serve the good Biryani in Pune. Dorabjee’s mutton biryani, with its succulent spicy tasty mutton with a garnish of burnt onions is easily the best, most tasty, and flavorsome biryani in town. In case you have come across some other place, do let me know.

On first impressions, how do you judge a Biryani? Try the spread test. Pick a little biryani in your fingers and sprinkle it on an empty plate. The grains of rice must not stick together but remain separate. The pieces of meat to must be succulent, clear and dry, not greasy. Then lift the plate and smell the pieces of meat – it must be slightly aromatic (the fragrance and aroma of marinated spices) not sharp or piquant.

At Hyderabad, the home of Biryanis, I’ve tried many – Madina, Shadab, Alpha, Azizia – but my favorite is Paradise in Secunderabad.

I’ve enjoyed many a decent Biryani while traveling on the railways, especially the South Central railway at places like Guntakal and Vijaywada, but the best was a surprise Malabari Biryani (embellished with a boiled egg)which I picked up on the run from the refreshment room at Ernakulam, Kerala.

Vizag too has many good biryanis, of which, I remember the one at Alkapuri near Jagdamba junction. I’ve had many not so memorable biryanis in Kolkata, Delhi, Bangalore and a few other places.

In Mumbai, there is Delhi Darbar, Lucky, Shalimar, Fountain Plaza and Stadium, near Churchgate Station, but my all time favorite is Olympia on Colaba Causeway. They have both Mutton and Chicken Biryani, but it’s Olympia’s Chicken Biryani that I relish the most. Yes, in my opinion, Olympia serves the perfect chicken biryani.

I used to go for a nice long walk in the evening, and when I was truly famished, I used to walk into Olympia and order half a plate of Chicken Biryani. Olympia is a no nonsense eatery with fast turnover and the biryani comes instantly. It looks fresh and appetizing, and will pass the “spread test” with flying colors.

My mouth waters. Generous scrumptious chicken, tasty rice, a bit of the fried potato – it’s delicious. I do not have words to describe the delightful experience. I squeeze just a tiny drop of lemon in my glass of water and drink. This enhances the aftertaste as I walk home feeling invigorated and happy. Olympia has lots on its menu, but for me it’s always Chicken Biryani.

My favorites: Dorabjee in Pune for Mutton Biryani and Olympia in Mumbai for Chicken Biryani.

I love Biryani. Can anyone please tell me of some new places where I can enjoy real good biryani?

VIKRAM KARVE

vikramkarve@sify.com

http://vikramkarve.sulekha.com

69 Comments »

  1. 1
    ex-puneiite Says:

    Try the biryani at Tamanna hotel in Hinjewadi infotech park opposite Infosys. It is a tad costly at rs 120 per plate but is one of the best biryani i had in pune. i have tried at george’s but the irani style of biryani making with chicken masala on plain biryani rice is not as flavourful or relishing or even mouthwatering as compared to Tamanna’s.

    P.S: it can sometimes be spicy..also try the murgh musallum or chicken makhmali at tamanna (only when accompanied by atleast 2 more people)

  2. 2
    Rashid Says:

    I agree Dorabjee’s has pulao / biryani, but you did not mention George restaurant which has very good biryani.

  3. 3
    puneboy Says:

    Dorabjee’s is still good, but you won’t get the seventies taste there any more. George is an on-and-off place; its biryani is good sometimes, downright bad at other times. Blue Nile is a letdown, absolutely. There was a time when its biryani was something to die for, as were those large fried slices of surmai that weren’t even mentioned on the menu. Tiranga is good, but more for Maharashtrian tastes — the biryani here has a bit too much masala for my liking.

    All in all, my vote nowadays goes to Grand Darbar opposite Oldham Methodist Church on East Street, but even this guy needs to be consistent about keeping his biryani good. Or, if you can order by the kilo, then go to Rashid Caterers at Nana Peth, just ahead of City Church as the road curves to the left. Pump him up a bit, tell him his quality had dropped the last time you bought from him, and he is all fired up to provide you the best biryani you ever ate.

  4. 4
    vin Says:

    you guys dont have the slightest clue about what good biryani is. and you, who likes olympia shit, man, you dont have a clue.

    improve your general knowledge guys, in the age of the internet, you can’t even spend 5 minutes of your time trying to figure out who biryani is made?

    maybe finding out how will help you figure thigns out better guys…

  5. 5

    Grand Durbar is good.

  6. 6

    I tried Rashid’s Biryani – Very tasty but a bit spicy.

  7. 7
    Siddharth Mehta Says:

    Pune so far has the worst biriyani next only to Bangalore. I hate the local Puneri favourites of Dorabjee, Goodluck, George and Blue Nile- a very poor form of biriyani (i doubt whether its a biriyani or not). Same goes for Lucky, Noorani, Olympia of Bombay (i am born and brought up in bombay) and Kareem’s, Jawahar of Delhi.

    If you want to taste real good biriyani, then buy yourself a ticket to Hyderbad, Lucknow and Calcutta. Paradise at Secunderabad, Madina, Azizia at Hyderabad, Wahid Ki Biryani, Idris Biryaniwala at Lucknow and Royal Indian, Shiraz, Aminia, Zeeshan, Rehmania, Shabbir, Arsalan and Bedwin of Calcutta.

    Do eat here specially at the given places in Lucknow and Calcutta.
    Calcutta so far has the best biryani in India (Hyderabadi flavours cooked in Lucknowi style full of Potatoes, One boiled egg and Mutton).

    And if you want to spend a fortune on good biryani, go to Dumpukht at ITC Hotels (ITC Maurya-Delhi, ITC Grand Maratha-Bombay and ITC Sonar Bangla-Calcutta).. enjoy buddy

    • 8
      Sudeep Says:

      Arsaalan Biriyani is no doubt mindblowing. I am a fan of Shiraaz since child. However of all Zeeshan , Shiraaz I like Arsaalan. But have u tried tikiya at Shiraaz. No comparison. Royal is still going strong with Mutton Chap. But its full of boes and less of meat. The taste is more spicy. But the speciality of Kolkata is that biriyani is served without dahi or Burrani.

  8. 9
    Piyush Says:

    Vikram….

    Mitra mag aapan kadhi Jaaycha ani kuthe jaaycha Biryani khayla…. Reply fast…. I am from Pune…..

  9. 10
    saim Says:

    i am new to Pune a die hard Biryani lover …………have had Biryani at Paradise Hyderaba… at tunde Lucknow and at many more places in Lucknow..best till now Paradise…lets see what Pune has got in store

  10. 12
    Daya Says:

    I have been born and brought up in Pune although now I am settled in Noida. I have eaten all kinds of mutton and chicken biryani in Delhi, Noida, Kolkata, Mumbai, but… nothing comes even close to the fantastic biryani that you get at Dorabjees, Pune. The worst biryani is in Delhi – they simply don’t know how to make a biryani, although they are wizards at kababs (Karim’s at Jama masjid is to die for). I really miss Dorabjees Biryani and make it a point to go there every time I am in Pune. George is pretty good too.

  11. 13
    Pradeepta Chowdhury Says:

    I studied in Pune in the 70′s. I have never had Biryani as good as at Dorabjee’s.

    I grew up in Old Delhi and (Yes!) Karim’s kababs are special! But I also remember bicycling in the rain (as a student) to eat kababs at “Radio Hotel” just off Main Street!. Does that place still exist?

    I have lived abroad ever since. But if the Biriyani at Dorabjee’s is still as good, I will make a special trip to Pune.

    I also remember the “brain curry” at Dorabjee’s! Delicious!

    Do you think you could ‘steal’ the recipe and post it on line? Or just reply to me in private! :-)

  12. 14
    site Says:

    Just to let you know your webpage appears a little bit unusual on Firefox on my pc using Linux .

  13. 16
    address Says:

    An insightful blog post there mate . Thanks for it !

  14. 17

    This blog site has lots of extremely helpful stuff on it! Thanks for informing me.

  15. 18
    account Says:

    A interesting blog post right there mate . Cheers for the post .

  16. Hey there, I just hopped over to your website through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might normally browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for creating something well worth reading.

  17. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your site? I am hunting for a great web host and your weblog seams to be extremely fast and up most the time

  18. How do you make your blog look this cool!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. .

  19. 22
    buy fridge freezer Says:

    How did you make your site look this sick! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  20. Weird , your posting turns up with a black hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your webpage?

  21. 24

    Weird , this post turns up with a dark color to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

  22. 25

    I believe that one of your current ads initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well need to place that on your blacklist.

  23. Im getting a tiny problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your rss feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  24. 27

    Most of the commentary on this website dont make sense.

  25. 28

    Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get 4 messages with the identical comment.

  26. I had been wondering if you ever thought of changing the design of your website? Its well written; I really like what you have got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you can space it out better?

  27. The structure for the website is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your web site. I might need to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  28. When I initially left a comment I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each time a remark is added I receive 4 emails with the identical comment.

  29. 32

    Could you message me with some hints & tips on how you made your blog look like this, I would be appreciative.

  30. The look for your weblog is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your site. I might need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  31. 34

    I have got 1 suggestion for your webpage. It seems like right now there are a handful of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a number of web pages in google chrome and safari. It is functioning alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  32. Have you given any thought at all with translating your webpage into French? I know a small number of translaters right here which would certainly help you do it for no cost if you wanna get in touch with me.

  33. pretty valuable stuff, on the whole I picture this is worthy of a book mark, thank you

  34. Whilst I really like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error near to the end from the third sentence.

  35. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  36. 39
    go there Says:

    The design for the web site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  37. While I genuinely like this post, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the end of the 3rd paragraph.

  38. Oh man! This blog site is cool! How did you make it look this good !

  39. 42
    homepage Says:

    I have got one suggestion for your web site. It looks like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet problems when opening a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is functioning alright in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

  40. I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Feed so i can read your web blog offline. Thanks.

  41. I love the site layout ! How was it made!? Its rather cool.

  42. 45

    After I open up your Feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my side?

  43. 46

    Weird , this post shows up with a dark color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  44. 47
    ebook Says:

    Re: Whomever created the comment that this was a good internet site actually needs to get their brain reviewed.

  45. I have got 1 suggestion for your web site. It looks like right now there are a handful of cascading stylesheet troubles while launching a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is operating alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  46. 49

    I love biryani more than anything, and never miss to taste the biryani of any new place that I hear about. I have had biryani at Dorabjee in Pune Camp and Good Luck at Deccan but did not like that much. There is only one place where I found the real taste and that was Amma’s Hyderabadi Biryani in Dhanori Pune.

  47. Awesome post . Cheers for, posting on this blog page man. I shall email you again! I did not realise that.

  48. 51

    When I open up your Rss feed it seems to be a lot of garbage, is the problem on my side?

  49. Is it okay to place a portion of this on my web site if perhaps I post a reference point to this web page?

  50. 53

    Cool post ! Thanks for, posting on this blog man! I shall message you soon. I didnt realise that!

  51. 54

    When I at first left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment.

  52. I Am Going To have to come back again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i could read your site offline. Cheers.

  53. This is a wonderful blog, could you be interested in going through an interview concerning just how you made it? If so e-mail me!

  54. The structure for your weblog is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your weblog. I might need to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  55. 58

    While I truly like this post, I believe there was an spelling error close to the finish with the 3rd paragraph.

  56. I was wanting to know if you ever thought of adjusting the layout of your website? It is very well written; I enjoy what you have got to state. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of written content so people can connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  57. Whilst I actually like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the finish of the third paragraph.

  58. 61
    sponsor Says:

    This is really a amazing website, could you be interested in doing an interview regarding just how you made it? If so e-mail myself!

  59. I tried looking at your site on my iphone and the design doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

  60. 63
    bath mats Says:

    Awesome post . Cheers for, posting on this blog page mate! I will message you soon. I did not know that.

  61. Have you given any thought at all with translating your main webpage in to Spanish? I know a couple of of translaters right here that will would help you do it for free if you want to make contact with me personally.

  62. 65
    click Says:

    How do you make a blog site look this sick! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. .

  63. 66

    I do expect this is actually the ideal area to ask this type of matter. I have a a small number of things that I need to have serviced around the house. I am struggling to find an individual with a wide variety of know-how such as mending pipe, and even electrical tasks as well as woodworking. Since my federal taxes cash just arrived I can hopefully try to get these dealt with. So now almost all I’d like is to identify a honest jack of all trades. I stumbled upon this provider labelled Fix It Unlimited. They have two addresses, Fix It Unlimited of Phoenix, 2942 N 24th St #114, Phoenix, AZ 85016, (602) 714-8724 and Fix It Unlimited of Glendale, AZ, 10960 N 67th Ave #62, Glendale, AZ 85304, (623) 455-5635. Have you or someone come across them? Any insight would be valued.

  64. 67
    Joanna Says:

    Terrific work! This is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared across the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this publish higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website . Thanks =)

  65. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your
    sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. All the best

  66. Yes, you can use confidence and wealth and get all the girlfriends that you need.
    They need proper counseling and it is time that you must make
    your mind up whether to prolong the relationship with the particular individual or not.
    Today we can browse, play games, shop, investigate and more all from the comfort of our own
    computer.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

